Alpagas Chelsea Alpacas.
The power of Alpaca Fiber.

Free delivery over 150 $ of purchase before taxes !

Alpaca Fiber

Alpaca fiber originates from the fleece of the alpaca (Lama pacos). Alpacas are close relatives of the llama and were first bred for their wool in the South American Andes around 5000 BC. In these ancient Incan times, alpaca fibre was used to make clothes for royalty and was known as “the fibre of the gods”.

Why Alpaca Fiber?

Alpaca fiber is incredibly soft and cozy, warmer than wool, light and breathable, fully hypoallergenic, and naturally resists dirt and liquids. .

Who's wearing it

If you are allergic to lanolin, you already know you need to stay away from sheep’s wool. Cashmere and Mohair do not have lanolin, but contain a waxy type of substance that needs to be washed out prior to processing their fiber. You may also be allergic to the different chemicals used to “wash” those types of fiber.  Alpaca fiber does not contain lanolin and hence is only washed with water prior to processing.  No harsh chemicals!

Environmentally conscious ? You will be happy to hear that the alpaca`s environmental footprint is far lighter than that of a cashmere goat’s. With it`s  soft padded feet, they are gentle the land. They graze without destroying root systems. Alpacas are also more efficient than goats and sheep. An alpaca drinks less water than a goat and can  grow enough wool to knit 4-5 sweaters in a year. It takes 4 goats the same amount of time to produce sufficient cashmere for a single sweater.

"Alpacas are very endearing, they all have different personalities."

Antony Beevor, Historian

FIND US

Alpagas Chelsea farm is located in Chelsea north of Gatineau, Quebec, about 25 km north of Parliament Hill. About 10 km from "downtown" Chelsea!

Follow us

The incredible quality of alpaca fiber

Alpaca yarn has a softness that easily competes with mohair and cashmere and is well suited for garments that will rest directly against the skin. A dense fiber, alpaca yarn provides excellent stitch definition and works wonderfully for textured patterns. If you’re looking to knit cables or ribbing, consider an alpaca blend to help keep your garment light.


"Dad, mom and two wonderful teenagers share the joys and chores of alpaca farming."

Close to Gatineau Park, enjoy the calm of nature to admire the alpacas products offered by the shop

Huacaya and Suri alpaca

Huacaya and Suri alpaca There are two main breeds of alpaca; the Huacaya alpaca which has a dense and curly crimped coat, and the Suri alpaca which has more lustrous but less curly hair that hangs down the body with a middle part down its back. More about alpaca fiber


Alpaca's produits

Alpacas have a calm temperament

Alpacas are calm by nature but also easily scarred by loud noises and running kids. Best way to approach them: sit down and wait for them to come and kiss your nose!...more

FAQ

Is alpaca fleece warmer than sheep’s wool? Is alpaca fiber waterproof?...more 

Visit Alpagas Chelsea farm store

Come see our selection of knitwear and products, all made from alpaca fiber ...more

Stay warm this winter thanks to our ALPACA PRODUCTS !

Sweaters

Socks

Hats

Scarfs

Want to come see us ?

Give yourself a day of rest in a wonderful natural site. Visit our farm and share our passion for these exceptional animals. Children (young and old) can feed the alpacas and discover the amazing fiber that these animals produce. Our visitors will be able to keep warm and dry this winter thanks to the "fiber of the gods".

Learn more about us in Our story section.

Alpagas Chelsea

Contact

Address:
1594 route 105, Chelsea, QC, J9B1P4

Home phone:

819-459-1626

Follow us

Alpagas Chelsea Alpacas.
La supériorité de la fibre d'alpaga.

Fibre d'alpaga

La fibre de l'alpaga provient de la toison de la race alpaga (Lamas Pacos). Les alpagas sont de proches parents du lama et furent élevés pour leur fibre dans les Andes de l'Amérique du Sud environ 5000 ans avant notre ère. Au temps des anciens Incas, La fibre de l'alpaga servait à confectionner des vêtements pour les rois et on l`appelait : ''la fibre des dieux''.

Pourquoi la fibre d'alpaga?

La fibre d'alpaga est incroyablement douce et confortable. Plus chaude que la laine de mouton, légère et n'irritant pas les voies respiratoires, elle est hypoallergène et résistent tout naturellement à la saleté et aux liquides.

Qui la porte

Si vous êtes allergique à la lanoline, vous savez déjà que vous devez vous tenir loin de la laine de mouton. Le cachemire et le mohair ne contiennent pas de lanoline, mais une substance cireuse qui doit être enlevée avant de pouvoir traiter la fibre. Vous pouvez également être allergique aux différents produits chimiques utilisés pour laver ces types de fibres. La fibre d'alpaga ne contient pas de lanoline ni de substance cireuse.  Il suffit donc de la laver à l`eau avec un savon doux (détergent à lessive par exemple) avant de pouvoir la transformer en échevaux de laine. Pas de produits chimiques forts donc elle est meilleure pour l'environement !

Vous êtes soucieux de la protection de l'environnement ? Vous apprendrez donc avec plaisir que l'impact environnemental de l'alpaga est beaucoup plus léger que celui de la chèvre cachemire. Avec ses pattes coussinées, l'alpagas n'âbime pas le sol et il broute sans détruire le système racinaire des pâturages. L'alpaga est aussi plus productif que la chèvre cachemire et que le mouton mérino.  Un alpaga boit moins d'eau qu'une chèvre et peut donner assez de laine pour faire 4-5 chandails par année.  Quatre chèvres produiront assez de laine pour confectionner un seul chandail !

"Les alpagas sont très attachants, ils ont tous des personnalités différentes."

Antony Beevor, historien

NOUS JOINDRE

La ferme Alpagas Chelsea est située à Chelsea, au nord de Gatineau, Québec. Nous sommes à environ 25 kilomètre de la colline parlementaire.  

Suivez-nous

L'incroyable qualité de la fibre d'alpaga

La fibre d'alpaga possède une douceur qui se compare à la douceur du mohair et du cachemire.  Elle convient très bien aux vêtements directement en contact avec la peau. Grâce à sa fibre dense, le fil d'alpaga procure une belle définition des mailles et s'adapte très bien aux modèles texturés. Si vous voulez tricoter des cordons, des torsades et des rainures, choisissez un mélange contenant de l'alpaga pour ainsi confectionner des vêtements légers.


"Papa, maman et deux merveilleuses adolescentes se partagent les joies et les corvées de l'élevage des alpagas."

Tout près du Parc de la Gatineau,  profitez du calme de la nature pour admirer les produits d' alpagas que vous offre la boutique.

Schedule the farm tour

Please note that we are open on weekends - Saturday and Sunday only, in time slots from 10am to 4pm

Sunday

Alpagas Chelsea Alpacas 1594 Route 105, Chelsea, QC J9B 1P4, Canada
Phone #: 819-459-1626

Alpagas Huacaya et Suri

Il existe deux races d'alpaga, le Huacaya qui possède un manteau dense, frisé et ondulé, et l'alpaga Suri qui jouit d'un manteau plus lustré, mais moins frisé qui recouvre son corps avec une séparation médiane sur son dos.  En savoir plus sur la fibre d'alpaga.


Produits d'alpaga

Les alpagas ont un tempérament calme

La meilleure facon de les approcher: assoyez-vous et attendez qu'ils viennent vous sentir le bout du nez et qui sait...peut être vous donner un petit bisou sur la joue ?  ...more

Questions fréquentes

La fibre  d'alpaga est-elle plus chaude que celle de mouton ? La fibre d'alpaga est-elle imperméable ? ...et plus 

La Boutique

Venez voir notre sélection de tricots et produits, tous fait à partir de la fibre d'alpaga. ...et plus

Vous resterez au chaud cet hiver grâce à nos PRODUITS D'ALPAGA !

Chandail

Bas

Tuque

Foulard

Vous voulez venir nous voir ?

Réservez votre visite

Veuillez noter que nous sommes ouverts le week-end - samedi et dimanche seulement, de 10h à 16h

Dimanche

Alpagas Chelsea Alpacas 1594 Route 105, Chelsea, QC J9B 1P4, Canada
Phone #: 819-459-1626

Accordez-vous une journée de repos dans un merveilleux site naturel.  Visitez notre ferme et partagez notre passion pour ces animaux exceptionnels.  Les enfants (petits et grands) pourront nourrir les alpagas et découvrir l'étonnante fibre que produisent ces animaux. Nos visiteurs pourront se garder au chaud et au sec cet hiver grâce à la ''fibre des dieux''.

Ouvert les fins de semaine de 10AM-4PM. Visite de ferme et boutique sur place.

Alpagas Chelsea

Contact

Adresse:
1594 route 105, Chelsea, QC, J9B1P4

Heures d’ouverture:
10h am à 4h pm en fin de semaine

Téléphone à domicile:
819-459-1626

Suivez-nous

This is a demo store for testing purposes — no orders shall be fulfilled. Rejeter